Chicken Quinoa Burrito Bowls and Salad + Recipes

IMG_1288

I obviously share my favorite recipes here, and up until now, they’ve been my own creations. But this one is a compilation of several other recipes I’ve found and love to put together. It’s possible this is my #1 favorite meal to make, but it could just be because it takes so much time that I can’t make it as often. Don’t be swayed though, it’s completely worth it! This post is 4 different recipes making one fabulous meal.

We’ve got the Crockpot Quinoa Burrito Bowls, but when I go to Chipotle, Cafe Rio, or the like, they give you rice with the salads, correct? It is one of my favorite parts! So, I make these burrito bowls into an incredible salad with a copycat creamy tomatillo/cilantro ranch dressing that is to die for. That dressing is all my sister’s doing. She brought it into my life and has been making this, and doubling it for me, for years. This entire recipe gives plenty of left overs, but I will still pull out just the lettuce and DIP it in this dressing for a quick snack when I’m in a hurry. So, make all 4 like I do, or make just one of these recipes when needed. Either way, you’re a winner. This is my go-to anytime I host or need a meal to share with others and it’s always a big hit. Enjoy!

fullsizeoutput_336

  1. The first recipe for the Crockpot Burrito Bowls comes from Clean Food Crush. I use chicken thighs instead of breasts because they are more moist and you can’t overcook them much. I only cook these in the crockpot until the chicken is done, which takes about 3 hours when thawed. The 5 hours is probably the frozen option.
  2. The second part of this beautiful compilation is the salad part, which is super simple. Just get everything you’d like to add to a Mexican salad. Chop romaine, tomatoes, green onions. Grab some sour cream or salsa. Prep cheese, avocado, limes, cilantro, etc. Gather it all together to create the perfect salad and top it with your quinoa when it’s done.
  3. Here is your frosting on the cake! This originally came from One Good Thing. Scroll down for the Creamy Tomatillo Dressing. The only things we’ve changed from this recipe is adding 2-3 extra tomatillos, we use 2-3 limes, and instead of the ranch packets from the store, we make our own ranch dressing mix so it’s clean. See # 4
  4. Often times the homemade versions of ranch mix is overpowered by dill. This recipe is my favorite, because it has much less dill than others. You can find it at The Frugal Girls. 3 Tablespoons of this homemade ranch mix = 1 store bought packet. You can store this mix separately for creating your own ranch when needed, and use the 3 Tablespoons for your Creamy Tomatillo/Cilantro Ranch recipe.

IMG_1284

I hope the work from this meal doesn’t deter you because once you’ve made it, you’ll always come back for more! My kids will eat a salad bigger than mine, so it’s a big win in our home.

Leave a Reply

