Quinoa Stuffed Peppers + Recipe

Once again, this is a recipe I grew up with. My mom made these the original way, with rice, and it was probably one of my biggest requests. Feel free to use rice in place of the quinoa! I’ve made just a few adjustments over the years to fit a healthier lifestyle and they still taste incredible. I know I’m lucky, but my kids devour these each time I make them!

IMG_9835

Obviously, the biggest change I’ve made here is replacing the rice with quinoa. If you haven’t liked quinoa in the past, I would really recommend this recipe! It is an easy way to acquire the taste because this meal is just so flavorful. Another good one for this is my Quinoa Fried “Rice” recipe.

Quinoa is naturally gluten-free and isn’t even a grain. It’s a seed of the goosefoot plant, but it has almost the same nutritional benefits as brown rice. Quinoa is an excellent source of protein, fiber, and minerals. Remember, if you love quinoa, get it at Costco! It’s organic and pre-washed.

Image 7-13-17 at 4.44 PM (1)

Another change I’ve made from the original recipe is using ground turkey instead of beef. Jennie-O is my favorite brand because it’s clean, lean, and delicious! My husband doesn’t like turkey burgers, but he can never tell the difference between when I cook with this ground turkey or beef. Other brands I’ve used have been pretty dry, but this isn’t.

IMG_9797IMG_9798

The last change I’ve made seems small, but it makes such a difference to the taste as well as your body. Your gut is begging for a change and a break from the processed foods everywhere. When you purchase what you need for this recipe, check your ingredients and get the best options you can find. Citric acid is a form of MSG and it’s in nearly everything. I have not been able to find canned tomatoes that do not have this in it, so I’ve crushed my own before. Find cheese without added color, natural ketchup if you like that on top. But remember, these things are not always practical. A friend once told me that the stress this can cause our bodies is just as harmful, if not worse, than not finding all clean and organic food. You do the best you can, when you can, pray over your food to nourish your body, and then trust the Lord.

 

IMG_9799IMG_9801

I stuff my peppers as much as possible, but that’s not necessary. You can also use poblanos, which I love, and still follow the same directions. Bell peppers just add this natural sweetness so you just can’t go wrong there. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do!

Ingredients:

3 cups prepared quinoa

3 peppers, rinsed and cut in half. Remove seeds.

1 pound Jennie-O ground turkey

1 8 oz can tomato sauce

1 15 oz can petite diced tomatoes

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon chili powder

Grated cheese

Ketchup (optional)

Foil to cover casserole dish

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Brown the ground turkey in a larger pan and drain extra juices and fat.
  3. Add the quinoa, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, garlic powder, onion powder, and chili powder to the ground turkey. Stir well.
  4. Put your pepper halves in a casserole dish and stuff them with the Mexican quinoa mix. (We often have left over quinoa and everyone enjoys that alone the next day.)
  5. Top each pepper with ketchup and cheese.
  6. Cover the casserole dish with the foil. Create a little dome to keep it from touching the peppers.
  7. Place in oven and bake for 60-90 minutes. Start with 60 and check the peppers by poking it with a fork. You want them to be soft and juicy.
  8. Serve and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

